#1 sinseer

Rookie

• Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 9 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 12 June 2014 - 04:31 AM

Hi All,

I'm not sure if I've posted this in the right section, but any advice would be appreciated. I'm looking to improve my PC set-up and possibly GPU to better experience MWO.

I've been playing MWO for a couple of months now and have been really enjoying it and am interested to see how it develops. I've invested in the game and would like to experience it as best as realistically possible.

I've played all the previous Mechwarrior games including Mechcommander 1 & 2 but otherwise I'm not a massive PC gamer (aside from classics such as Warcraft, C&C,Total Annihilation etc). As such I don't have a gaming rig and don't plan on splashing out a grand on a new machine in the next year.

My setup is as follows:
Windows 8.1
4GB Ram (max the motherboard can take)
AMD Phenom ii X4 850 (3.3GHz) (Again max the mobo can take)
Radeon HD5550 (512MB ram I think)
64GB Samsung SSD

I'm using the original PSU for the time being but I have as NRP-PC602 PSU ready to go in it if I update the PSU (it's 600W, 80Plus Bronze)

Like I said, I don't want to get a new PC but wouldn't mind getting a modern GPU as the CPU and RAM are already maxed. I currently run the game on 1680x1050 on low settings and get a wide range of FPS around the low 20s - I would like to see higher FPS and detail and possibly use a 1080p monitor I have spare.

I've read that MWO is heavily CPU dependent, with that in mind am I likely to even benefit from a new GPU or am I already CPU/RAM limited?
If it is worth upgrading the GPU, then to what level would I continue to see benefits (something like a Nvidia Titan, I would imagine is overkill for the system for example)?