Critque My Shadowhawk Build.

13 replies to this topic

#1 Sazzbaum

Rookie

• 1 posts

Posted 16 August 2014 - 08:32 PM

Hello, I just started playing this game for a week and recently purchased my first Mech: The Shadow Hawk SHD-2H.

SHD-2H

What do you think about this build?

Personally, I'm leaning forward the "support role", not a brawler becasue the XL300 engine can't handle much. I hang back behind the heavy and assault and only join the fray when they are commited to it. Though in small skirmish with other medium or light I often stand my ground provided that there are teamates to make the fight as unfair as possible.
Medium laser to defend against lights and poke at thing.
SRM4 for heavy-duty fighting.
AC/10 for the occasional long-range harassment and brawling. I'm still unsure between AC/10 or Ultra AC/5 for more range, faster fire rate but spread damage. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

#2 Modo44

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 3,559 posts

Posted 16 August 2014 - 08:50 PM

It looks OK if you are good with the AC10. The UAC5 can generally perform better thanks to the straight projectile path, and you can always find a use for the saved 4 tons (3 from the weapon, 1 from needing less ammo).

As another upgrade, consider downgrading to XL280 and removing a jump jet for another heatsink and 3 tons of AC10 ammo. The speed reduction should not be terrible. For that, you get more DPS, and the gun will not run out as often.

As you get better at not getting shot in the back, you can drop the ass padding a bit. You also want one empty arm for shielding, so empty the left by moving the ammo to where your laser is. That way you only have one arm you need to protect. The other becomes fully expendable as a shield.