Nova Or Cataphract?

28 replies to this topic

#1 Monroe the Pinhead

• Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 23 September 2014 - 12:03 PM

i'm relatively new to mwo and am going to buy a mech, its not my first real mech, i foolishly squandered my cadet bonus on an Orion which for me as a total noob was not the best choice. so now I've grinded my way up to a sizable amount of c bills and it comes down to 2 mechs
The Nova NVA-S and
The Cataphract 3D.
Both have desirable hard points and i feel comfortable in both mechs so its a coin toss for me but i don't want to waste all those c bills again.
Is there any thing i should be aware of or any advice on making the decision i should know of?

any feedback is appreciated. thanks

#2 n r g

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Universe
  • The Universe
  • 816 posts

Posted 23 September 2014 - 12:24 PM

depends what play style you like.

for me easily, the Cataphract 3D with dual gauss, or something like 2ppc1guass or 2ac52ppc or even something prototype like 2largepulse2ac5 or uac5

;)

#3 Appogee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 10,966 posts
  • LocationOn planet Tukayyid, celebrating victory

Posted 23 September 2014 - 12:25 PM

Phract is far more versatile in terms of weapon loadout combinations. XL or standard engines, to go fast or tank/zombie, at your preference.

Nova is mostly an energy boat and runs too hot since PGI increased weapon heat. It has a fixed engine and that means its top speed is forever limited to what it comes with (after tweak).

No competition, really.

Edited by Appogee, 23 September 2014 - 12:27 PM.

#4 Cranial Enigma

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The Infernal
  • The Infernal
  • 113 posts

Posted 23 September 2014 - 12:28 PM

Go for the cata, right now the nova is extremely underwhelming because of the nerfs. Or you could wait another 2 weeks and get the stormcrow which is considered the best medium right now. (besides the shadowhawk).

#5 The Trumpet of Gabriel