- - - - -

Buying New Mech - Advice

31 replies to this topic

#1 kramxel

Rookie

• 6 posts

Posted 25 September 2014 - 04:25 AM

Hi,

I'm new to MWO, coming from WOT, so I'm familiar with most f2p mmo concepts. I've just finished my cadet 25 games wtih around 10,5 Million C-Bills, so I'm at the point I need to buy a mech.

Almost all of my cadet games were done using the Blackjack, and I've certainly found it fitting to my abilities, even though it severely lacks some sort of long range weaponry (AC20 3MLS BJ-1C).
I really like the concept behind the BJ with high mounted weapons, a mix of ballistic and energy and a quite compact build.

I've tried other trial mechs in the training grounds and always had a problem with widely spread weapon mounts, so I definitely value the compact builds to match my lack of skill in that department.

Having said all this, and before someone sugests the obvious (buy a BJ!), I came to know MWO trough sidestrafe's youtube channel, and having watched him and many others playing a Raven 3L, I feel it would certainly fit my playing style.

Unfortunately there's no way I can play one before paying, and the 3L build is a little of my reach in therms of C-Bills (almost 14M).
On the other hand, if I do buy a BJ, it would take ages to raise that kind of sum again... nevermind the need to grind the BJ mechs.

So, any advice?

#2 Soul Tribunal

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Urban Commando
  • Urban Commando
  • 606 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 25 September 2014 - 04:32 AM

If you like the hit and run, and compact weapon arrays, the Cicada is actually a very decent mech for this.
They are lighter armored than what you might be used to (being 5 tons lighter than a BJ) but are faster, and if you get the 3M Variant you will get ECM, which makes a world of difference.

Now if you prefer to do more damage and have more armor the Shadowhawks have great hardpoints and good weapon choices.