36 replies to this topic

#1 Zookeeper Dan

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 487 posts
  • LocationBeer City USA

Posted 30 January 2015 - 05:45 PM

I just started playing and one thing has become clear, I'm awful at running and gunning.  10 games and I'm usually under 30 damage (although my win-loss is 8-2, go figure).  Part of it may be that none of the trial mechs suit my style of play.  
I've been into battletech since the 90's and I hope I'm just victim to MWO's steep learning curve.  I'm counting on my skills improving quicker concentrating on one mech that I like piloting!
I'd like a mech that can provide range support, but then can move in to help clean up.  I like medium to heavy mechs with moderate speed and jump jets.
Looking at my options, a Trebuchet seems to be right up my alley.  Would this make a good first mech?  In particular the TBT-7M is on sale right now and I just about have enough C-Bills.
Should I go for it or are there any other mechs I should consider?
Thanks!

#2 TripleEhBeef

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The People's Hero
  • The People
  • 700 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 30 January 2015 - 06:03 PM

Consider the Griffins and Kintaros. They can also play the LRM medium role very well.

The Treb 7M isn't a bad choice since it comes with the XL250 engine. That engine can be used pretty well across a good number of medium mechs, including other Trebuchets, which is important if you want to Elite the chassis.

The Trebs are pretty good at providing support with their LRMs while packing enough backup medium lasers to help out in close range fights. The 7M is the most versatile of the bunch given it's launcher hardpoints and jump jets.

I can recommend it on the grounds that you're getting a hell of a deal on that XL250. NEVER sell any XL engine and expensive standards.

#3 Tarogato

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Civil Servant
  • Civil Servant
  • 6,557 posts
  • LocationUSA

Posted 30 January 2015 - 06:06 PM