100% Noob Looking For Advice

22 replies to this topic

#1 recsa

• PipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 21 posts

Posted 03 October 2015 - 12:41 PM

Hi,

I just started playing today and although i have read every piece of info ive found i must admit im kinda lost, so i hope no one gets mad at me if i ask something stupid or that has already been asked a thousand times :unsure:

Currently i have a Hunchback 4J, bought it cos i like the range play style, but i feel it does little damage and would like to buy something with more fire power and a bit more armor, so im thinking on a heavy but have no idea which one would better fit me, as i said i like the sniping play style.

A few questions numbered for better understanding:

1) With above premises, what (heavy?) mech should i buy? got 9-10M c-bills (as a bonus, once bought, how should i tweak it?

2) Can i have 2 mechs without buying Mech Bays?

3) What skills should i get first? and how the hell do i get decent amounts of GXP without converting XP to GXP?

4) If i enjoy game i might want to spend some money on it, whats best way to do it? buy a bundle? buy MCreds? and whats best use for Mcreds XP to GXP conversion or Premium?

5) For a sniper whats best weapon? PPC, AC20, LRM, LL, ...

Guess thats more than enough asking atm, thx a lot.

#2 Spheroid

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Veteran Founder
  • Veteran Founder
  • 5,061 posts
  • LocationSouthern Wisconsin

Posted 03 October 2015 - 12:51 PM

The Hunchback-4J is a fantastic little mech. I strongly recommend buying two more Hunchbacks and finish leveling them.

My build is a 200 STD, endo, 13 DHS, 4xmlas, TAG(head), 2x LRM10(5 tons).

As for heavies the clear best is the Thunderbolt-5SS/9SE or Jager-DD with dual gauss/triple UAC setup.

Edited by Spheroid, 03 October 2015 - 12:55 PM.

#3 The Basilisk

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Mercenary
  • The Mercenary
  • 3,270 posts
  • LocationFrankfurt a.M.

Posted 03 October 2015 - 12:51 PM