34 replies to this topic

#1 spartync

• Pip
  • The Sureshot
  • The Sureshot
  • 15 posts

Posted 01 January 2016 - 06:41 PM

I will preface this saying a few things:
  • I don't believe PSR is a true metric for pilot skill.
  • I don't claim to know the inner workings of the PSR system.
  • Your mileage may vary...

I started playing on the 22nd of December.

Since then I've played 144 matches.

I *think* everyone starts as PSR around 50% filled in the XP bar.

My W/L is 85/59 so it's not overwhelmingly positive in the W/L area.

Maybe more telling is the average XP per match of 1,302.99 and a K:D of 2.12.

That said, I advanced into PSR 4 with this information.

I am posting this because I suspect, like me, you're wondering what it actually takes or what a tier up looks like in terms of game stats. I tracked mine pretty religiously in a notebook during my first week or so here.

My top damage in a match was 1,019 with the BJ-3 on HPG in Skirmish yesterday evening. In that match we lost and I only ended up with with 1 killing blow and 5 assists. In that loss, my pilot skill went up.

I got the Ace of Spades in the Arrow Hero Blackjack on the 28th and was 8 killing blows and 3 assists.

A lot of what I've witnessed is folks just making plain poor decisions by being impatient. The impatient players are the ones getting LIT UP on the regular. I've also noticed that a lot of newer players will get damaged, and then just stand in place and try trading alpha strikes with the guy standing cockpit to cockpit with him. Again ... lack of patience.

The story I see play out most frequently in Tier 5 goes like this:

Match Starts
Mechs race off to a defensive position and start trading damage.
The opposing team takes out a few aggressive mechs on one team.
The team gets nervous by the kills and starts getting more aggressive in the trades or makes an early push that results in more death.