A Few Queries[Too Long Post]

13 replies to this topic

#1 Motormouth

• PipPip
  • Survivor
  • 27 posts

Posted 11 February 2016 - 01:08 AM

Hello, I'm new to Mechwarrior Online.

I have played Mechwarrior 2, both expansions and Mechwarrior 3 as well as Mech Commander 2.

Firstly, In terms of f2p vs. p2p.

Does p2p break the metagame?

On the metagame.

Is this game purely reliant on meta, or does piloting skill dominate. Or vice versa.

I'm mainly coming from Old School Armored Core, but have roots in the Mechwarrior PC games.

I like customization, optimization, experimentation and having fun with the Mech's I build.

Games with no meta succumb to cheap tricks and ruin the game, and too much meta makes it feel pointless because once you have the biggest robot, that's it.

On gameplay.

This is my first online game of any sort since Starcraft at 10 yrs old. How often should I be online? Or, more precisely, what game modes support "casual" and which ones require more dedication? I do not want to start a game that requires advanced planning or scheduling like WoW.

I have the general idea of how to behave from lurking, but advice would be appreciated.

Lastly, I want a game that I can invest time in over the long haul and get something back.

Not a twitch fest nor a 1-100 grind then start a new character.

PS: Can I use a joystick?

Edited by Motormouth, 11 February 2016 - 01:36 AM.

#2 Rogue Jedi

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 4,908 posts
  • LocationSuffolk, England

Posted 11 February 2016 - 02:35 AM

this is free to play, paying does not give you an advantage, it just gets you stuff quicker.
the stuff you can buy with real money includes:
preorder Mech packs, get new models months before free players do, occasionally a new Mech turns out to be really good
  Hero Mechs with 30% bonus Cbill income and diferant hardpoints to cbill variants, heroes are not usualy overpowered, and are sometimes the worst variant