#1 Impyrium

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The God
  • The God
  • 2,104 posts
  • LocationSouth Australia

Posted 03 July 2016 - 11:56 PM

Edited and cleaned up word block:

VR is pretty cool. There's no VR games released that I'm aware of as of yet. MWO isn't a very suitable candidate for VR so, I started playing around with Unity and its VR capabilities.

To be clear I'm not an experienced programmer, modeller, animator or anything and am learning things as I go, so expectations should remain as appropriate. :P

What I'm thinking: an interactive VR based MechWarrior demo. I'm experimenting with adding touch controls to physically interact with the cockpit. It'd be cool to have a viewer mode to view mechs through various angles.

Posted Image

And of course, I'm kinda borrowing PGI's assets here, which may or may not earn their unending love. This is a completely non-profit, for fun, only distributed from this forum game idea. If you guys would rather I didn't, say the word and I'll back off.

Cockpits are tricky because they're just not scaled correctly compared to their external representations. Most seem to be 2-3 times bigger than what they're externally depicted as, and few 'fit' without modification. It's why some cockpits look too big in MWO.

If anyone's interested as well, I'm very open to any help or contributions. Into making 3D scenes? Also very open to including custom BattleTech content, not just MWO stuff.

Edited by Dingo Red, 30 May 2017 - 10:22 PM.

#2 kiriage

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • 119 posts
  • LocationCairns, Australia

Posted 04 July 2016 - 02:54 AM

Wow..outstanding idea! Dont have a VR set..but sounds like it would be very cool if you did. Id be happy to include some of the stuff I did for Bishop if he was so inclined as well..anyway great idea..look forward to seeing how it evolves.

#3 Impyrium

• The God
  • The God
  • 2,104 posts

Posted 24 July 2016 - 11:27 PM

Posted Image