Tiers

16 replies to this topic

#1 hordes1ayer2

• PipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • 88 posts

Posted 27 July 2016 - 06:41 PM

I am just wondering how to go up in tiers and whats the best way to do it. Thanks

#2 Ragnahawk

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 645 posts
  • LocationAce in RVN-3L, HBK-4P, CDA-2A, AS7-S, BNC-3M, Won Top Dog Tourny.. Those are my bests

Posted 27 July 2016 - 06:54 PM

first 25 matches decides your tier.

#3 SlightlyMobileTurret

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Lance Corporal
  • 718 posts

Posted 27 July 2016 - 06:55 PM

Winning. --- It's as simple as that.

My W/L when PSR hit was 0.3 after hundred or so games. I was an absolute noob. Now my W/L is upto 1. That's a lot better, and here I am. It's more an "XP" bar (I would say a consistency bar, though) than a "skill" bar.

If you're really interested, start by introspecting.

1) your play
2) your builds

If you lose, something went wrong. Were you to blame?
If you died too early, something definitely went wrong there. Again, think about what you might have done wrong.

A next step would be to get a mech in which you can do well in game after game. Something reliable and something you're good with. 'Course, pushing out of T5 doesn't exactly require more than LRMs, but still, getting used to a good mid range build helps in the long run.

The most essential skill in MWO is positioning. I cannot emphasize this enough.

The people that are bad with assault mechs and light mechs (aka I live out of my FoTM mech) are poor with their positioning. Both lights and assaults take a LOT of positioning skill.

Getting caught out in an assault is DEATH. Getting shot at by all of the enemy team because you rounded a corner and stopped in a light, is DEATH.

Definitely work on your assault mechs and lights. It helps you to understand the mindset of good pilots of these weight classes, and all the work that goes into it, even when you lose, you always learn something.