17 replies to this topic

#1 MadCat02

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • 668 posts

Posted 21 September 2013 - 04:47 AM

Hey

I am kinda new to using LRMS .

Can someone bring me up to speed and tell me which upgrades worth using and what do they do ?

ARTEMIS- is it just for faster lock on ?

NARC- i have no idea

TAG- Makes more missiles hit ?

How much LRM should i run on Stalker or Atlas ?

Thank you

#2 scJazz

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,668 posts
  • LocationNew London, CT

Posted 21 September 2013 - 04:54 AM

1 ) Artemis... faster lock, tighter groups, better tracking... only works if you have LOS

2 ) TAG similar to Artemis... only works if you have LOS and are hitting the target. Also breaks ECM.

3 ) Never use LRM20s... ever. I mean it!

4 ) If you try to Boat LRMs in an Atlas or Stalker some light mech is going to find you and tear you apart.

5 ) read this thread... http://mwomercs.com/...k-my-build-plz/

#3 Nirina

Rookie

• 4 posts

Posted 21 September 2013 - 04:55 AM

LRM are fine when you can fire 30 - 40 missiles at once.

TAG Artemis and Narc make more missiles hit indeed, and speed up the lock-on but you need to hit the ennemy mech with TAG, and have it in your LOS with Artemis. Narc does the same thing but it's a missile that's fixed on and can be destroyed.

I would recommend TAG first, and if you have empty space and tonnage you should look at Artemis.

#4 Redshift2k5

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Stone Cold
  • Stone Cold
  • 11,975 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland

Posted 21 September 2013 - 05:05 AM

Keep in mind that a missile boat does not neccesarily need TAG or NARC- these are tools for a spotter. A missile boat can use it's own TAG or NARC, but then that requires you to have a clear line of sight to the enemy.

The most dangerous missile boats are the ones behind sufficient cover and with a proper spotter making the LRM platform immune to return fire.