• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Sureshot
  • The Sureshot
  • 354 posts
  • LocationTennessee

Posted 14 July 2014 - 11:27 AM

Concept Process To Leverage Capital PGI Has Already Spent On Existing Maps

Hello,

I rarely post but the recent VLog discussion got me thinking about maps and how possibly PGI can triangulate its efforts to maximize its ROI on already existing maps and deliver a better player experience at the same time.

While I am not a developer I am a concept design leader for our business applications where I work and I always try to maximize existing functionality and leverage it in a way that we can spin it off and have a scalable solution that can grow around our employee and customer needs.

I think its worth a discussion to see if its possible for PGI to speed up its deployment rate of maps while capitalizing on existing map toolsets and at the same time introduce more map variability into the game for players while at the same time establish a means to provide a continuity of experience in community warfare on planetary style conquest battles...let me explain some key assumptions.
  • I do believe that PGI has had to create various toolsets around maps and once that map is complete they have a diminishing return in terms of use because when they make a new map they create new artistic toolsets.
  • Map size is limited to a degree to control the length of battles, overly huge maps would create issues in this area.
Now let me explain how I think PGI can use work already done to control cost, deliver a better gaming experience and overall deploy assets quicker.
  • First, start building out existing maps to a larger size, the tool sets already exist for those maps the terrain is all that needs to be different.
  • Keep your boundary size the same even when making the maps bigger but randomize where the boundary falls on the map for public drops and even possibly CW battles.