Chassis variants / Mech Lab questions

15 replies to this topic

#1 Kobold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • 2,930 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL

Posted 04 June 2012 - 12:18 PM

Preface: I am pretty new to paying attention to MWO (I basically ignored it until the past week or so, since beta and launch seemed SO FAR AWAY when I first heard about it). I was wondering a few things and I wasn't sure if this information was out there. If the information isn't available, I welcome speculation!

What I think I know:

* When you first join, you get one mech.
* Elite Founders get one additional mech.
* Mechs have hardpoints which dictate roughly how much you can customize them (energy for energy, etc)
* Different mech chassis variants are available for purchase (I've seen the screenshot with two HBKs listed)
* Presumably the different variants will have different hardpoints (you won't be able to put a PPC on your HBK-4G, but you might be able to on your 4P swayback, thanks to all its ML slots).

What I am wondering:

1) What about all those extra open slots in light and medium mechs? Will you never be able to use them? Will it be impossible to, for example, put a large laser on a HBK-4G ever because its energy slots in the base variant are only 1 crit wide?

2) When you pick your starting mech (normal or founder) do you think there will be more than one variant available, or only the "base" model? (For example, I am not a fan of the CN9-A, but I love the CN9-AL, and would love to get one of those to stick a PPC on instead of the ML)

3) Do you expect the stats and costs of mechs, weapons, etc to be public before we have to decide whether to commit to a founder's package? I'd hate to spend 60 bucks if really all I need to spend to get what I want is 10 or 15. (or alternatively, if what I really want will cost me 90, I'd be better off paying zero and sticking to free play)

Please correct any mistaken assumptions I have.

#2 Orion Pirate