Jump to content

1 Extra Slot In Both Legs


12 replies to this topic

#1 EyeDie I

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 301 posts

Posted 31 July 2013 - 07:23 AM

i love seeing the loading screen that tells you heatsi8nks in the legs have better dissipation in water, when 95% id guess use DHS, how about adding a slot to each leg?so we can put dhs in legs.

#2 James The Fox Dixon

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 2,572 posts
  • LocationEpsilon Indi

Posted 31 July 2013 - 07:26 AM

No.

#3 Hotthedd

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The People's Hero
  • 3,213 posts
  • LocationDixie

Posted 31 July 2013 - 07:44 AM

Wait for Clan DHS.

The whole reason you cannot put IS DHS in the legs is one of the trade-offs of upgrading to DHS in the first place, so, no.

#4 Viper69

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,204 posts

Posted 31 July 2013 - 07:47 AM

I guess with the changes they are making may as well. I dont see anything game breaking adding a slot to the legs. After all everyone says the game is only loosely based on TT and you cannot translate TT into a game, so sure add 4 or 5 more slots to the legs.

#5 EyeOne

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • Elite Founder
  • 1,488 posts
  • Twitch: Link
  • LocationCockpit, Stone Rhino

Posted 31 July 2013 - 07:47 AM

EyeDie 1, I think we should be nemeses.

#6 ValdnadHartagga

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • LocationBehind enemy lines

Posted 31 July 2013 - 08:57 AM

Every 'Mech ever designed since the 80s has only two critical slots in each leg. Just the way things are done.

#7 Redwood Elf

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 179 posts

Posted 31 July 2013 - 09:23 AM

View PostHotthedd, on 31 July 2013 - 07:44 AM, said:

Wait for Clan DHS.

The whole reason you cannot put IS DHS in the legs is one of the trade-offs of upgrading to DHS in the first place, so, no.



You mean like not getting the full "Double" effect despite them still taking up 3 slots?

1.4 < 2.0 in case you were wondering.

#8 Hotthedd

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The People's Hero
  • 3,213 posts
  • LocationDixie

Posted 01 August 2013 - 02:36 PM

View PostRedwood Elf, on 31 July 2013 - 09:23 AM, said:




You mean like not getting the full &quot;Double&quot; effect despite them still taking up 3 slots?

1.4 &lt; 2.0 in case you were wondering.

That is a separate issue from leg critical slots, and I know 1st grade math, thanks.

#9 Hellcat420

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 1,520 posts

Posted 01 August 2013 - 02:54 PM

no. the legs have enough crit slots.

#10 Redwood Elf

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 179 posts

Posted 01 August 2013 - 05:40 PM

View PostHotthedd, on 01 August 2013 - 02:36 PM, said:

That is a separate issue from leg critical slots, and I know 1st grade math, thanks.


However, it DOES demonstrate that they've made massive changes from Tabletop. the REASON you couldn't put DHS in the legs in the tabletop game was because you already got double effect from them. They've taken away that efficiency, so it would make sense to compensate by adding one leg crit slot, perhaps ONLY if the mech buys the double heat sink conversion.

#11 GRiPSViGiL

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Vicious
  • The Vicious
  • 1,904 posts
  • Twitch: Link
  • LocationHillsboro, OR

Posted 01 August 2013 - 05:49 PM

I know the TT rules say SHS and DHS can't be used at the same time but that doesn't make sense to me. I don't think it will break the game to allow them to be used after the upgrade. It isn't like the engine Heatsinks all of a sudden take up more crit slots once you upgrade to DHS.

#12 Nothing Whatsoever

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 3,655 posts
  • LocationNowhere

Posted 01 August 2013 - 09:46 PM

View PostGRiPSViGiL, on 01 August 2013 - 05:49 PM, said:

I know the TT rules say SHS and DHS can't be used at the same time but that doesn't make sense to me. I don't think it will break the game to allow them to be used after the upgrade. It isn't like the engine Heatsinks all of a sudden take up more crit slots once you upgrade to DHS.


Well, if your interested check out this page on sarna, and this essay section for some background lore on heatsinks.



As for MWO and the OP, the game seems like it can see improvement with a tweak to the heat system, but I agree with the other posters that an extra slot to the legs should not be added for the purpose of adding IS DHS there.

#13 Hotthedd

    Member

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The People's Hero
  • 3,213 posts
  • LocationDixie

Posted 02 August 2013 - 05:16 AM

View PostRedwood Elf, on 01 August 2013 - 05:40 PM, said:



However, it DOES demonstrate that they've made massive changes from Tabletop. the REASON you couldn't put DHS in the legs in the tabletop game was because you already got double effect from them. They've taken away that efficiency, so it would make sense to compensate by adding one leg crit slot, perhaps ONLY if the mech buys the double heat sink conversion.

Ever hear the saying: "Two wrongs do not make a right"? That is what adding critical slots to mechs would be. Paul stated in the last AtD that he does not want to see heat neutral mechs.
IMO, every decision PGI has made that deviates from BattleTech has been flawed.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users