8 replies to this topic

#1 Milocinia

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 1,470 posts
  • LocationAvalon City, New Avalon

Posted 05 June 2013 - 04:43 PM

I'm no pro gamer so I don't care too much about having truly pro things to show on YouTube (cus I can't really make the content in the first place lol) however I would still like to create nice looking videos which are smooth and clear. Up to now it's evaded me though.

I have an i5-3470 and a GTX 660 2GB factory OC and 8GB ram. Enough to play the game in 1920x1080, highest all round and AA on, flawless 60fps on any map with any action going on.. However when recording (with Fraps in 60fps full res) I have to turn AA off as it's just a bit too much for the system. No biggy really as that sort of detail is lost on YouTube anyway. I'll still get a bit of slowdown during things like heavy ballistics fire and on some maps with poor optimisation but it's otherwise nothing I'd cry about.

The problem is I'm struggling to find the right settings in Fraps and Vegas Pro 12. The raw vids that Fraps takes look great but are obviously too big to upload for a non-enthusiast. In the past on my old laptop I'd always converted to WMV as it seemed to work well and provided decent compression/quality. However the recent vids I took and uploaded on this PC look awful on YT.

Now, is there a better capture tool then Fraps? I looked at Dxtory but got confused by the pretty bad pigeon English. What settings and codec would you recommend in Vegas? Just had a test with MainConcept mp4 and that seemed to work really well with an excellent file size, good output quality and decent speed thanks to CUDA support.

Any suggestions?

#2 kesuga7

• The Challenger
  • The Challenger
  • 1,022 posts
  • LocationSegmentum solar - Sector solar - Subsector sol - Hive world - "Holy terra"

Posted 05 June 2013 - 05:58 PM