#1 Grifthin

• PipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 98 posts

Posted 07 June 2013 - 02:58 PM

So I bought myself a A1 Catapult. I'm having trouble with the following things:

Mitigating damage to centre torso.
Damage application with Streaks (yes It's a streak cat)
I seem to have trouble out manuevering enemies in it. I have a big engine (top speed about 80km\s per hour)
When to volley fire and when to chain fire.
How to tackle heavies.

Things I like:
Blowing ECM lights to pieces in 1-2 volleys
Jump Jets
Low Heat
Fast for a heavy.

How do I survive longer ? I'm a hunchback pilot at heart and I thought keeping the hump alive was not that difficult. I just seem to melt in seconds in the cat even though I should have more armor. I just seem to accumulate damage to the torso randomly during the course of fights. Any tips or suggestions ?

#2 Jchan1e

• PipPip
  • Survivor
  • 25 posts
  • LocationBoulder, CO

Posted 07 June 2013 - 04:47 PM

No matter what you do, the Cat's CT is a huge target. Torso twist to mitigate. You should have about max armor and at least 300XL as well as a BAP to counter ECM, but the biggest thing you can do to survive longer is pick your fights such that you can get in, take out that straggler, and get back to cover quickly. Open areas like the lake in Forest Colony will be the death of you because your weapons are limited to 270m, You want to stick to areas with lots of cover you can ambush from, and it helps to have a buddy nearby with long range weapons for when you do get caught at a distance by snipers or LRMs. My personal favorite build for the A1 is the 6xSRM6 Splat Cat, for sheer damage output that can down most heavies in 2 volleys.

Chain fire isn't as useful as it used to be since they changed recoil. I'd just alpha every time you have a solid lock so you can get back to cover quickly.
Heavies, since you're faster than most of them you should be able to stay behind them most of the time to focus your damage to their rear CT.