Mechwarrior 4 First Time Player (So my body is ready for MWO)

27 replies to this topic

#21 GaussDragon

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,183 posts
  • LocationToronto

Posted 10 June 2012 - 02:51 PM

View PostLuke Garrad, on 10 June 2012 - 02:02 PM, said:

Heyy guys.

Started Playing Mechwarrior 4 as I'm new to the series. I need some help and tips for a begineer. And also how you guys first learned the controls and all. So far I love the game and all But Im having a lot of trouble being able to renember the controls and which button does which. Anyone know any better control schemes or something I can print off to help me with it. Thanks

Based on what we know, MWO is using a free reticle system like the one used in MW3. MW4 used a fixed reticle system. They behave differently. In a free reticle system, you'll definitely want to go mouse. The following buttons were the most important in MW4 and I suspect they will be in MWO. How/where you map them is entirely up to you:
  • Weapons group 1
  • Weapons group 2
  • Weapons group 3
  • Toggle zoom window
  • Fire jump jets
  • Toggle radar active/passive
  • Target enemy under reticle
  • Target next enemy
I'm using a Razer Naga Hex mouse. It has 6 big buttons on the side so I'll be able to fit most of my important functions on the mouse.

Edited by GaussDragon, 10 June 2012 - 02:52 PM.

#22 Namwons

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • Elite Founder
  • 546 posts
  • LocationFactory, Solaris VII

Posted 10 June 2012 - 03:25 PM

Heyy guys.

Started Playing Mechwarrior 4 as I'm new to the series. I need some help and tips for a begineer. And also how you guys first learned the controls and all. So far I love the game and all But Im having a lot of trouble being able to renember the controls and which button does which. Anyone know any better control schemes or something I can print off to help me with it. Thanks