21 replies to this topic

#1 ColdHeat

• PipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 75 posts
  • LocationCity of Brass

Posted 19 August 2013 - 03:27 PM

Now i'm no total newbie anymore but since the learning curve in MWO is extremely high i still feel like my thread belongs here.

I recently bought my first hero mech: the YLW. To this day i was a raven only pilot and while the start with the stock engine YLW was hard i meanwhile finally do more average damage per game as with my raven (300-600). Still my CBill income strangely hasn't changed at all.

Now i didn't bought my YLW for CBills farming only yet to me that appears to be one of the most reasonable ideas to get a hero mech. I can see that i roughly get 30.000 cbills extra every game thanks to the hero status still.. i do pretty much around the same or more cbills with an ordinary raven, while i do less damage in it. Where's the logic in that?

Am i doing something wrong or where's the sense in buying a hero mech then?

#2 ICUBurn

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Mercenary Rank 1
  • Mercenary Rank 1
  • 237 posts
  • LocationMichigan

Posted 19 August 2013 - 03:31 PM

since they nerfed teh cbills prem time and hero mech bonuses are pointless.

#3 Wintersdark

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,375 posts
  • Google+: Link
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationCalgary, AB

Posted 19 August 2013 - 03:36 PM

View PostICUBurn, on 19 August 2013 - 03:31 PM, said:

since they nerfed teh cbills prem time and hero mech bonuses are pointless.

This is quite an exaggeration, or you have some very serious issues with your math. You still earn 30% more cbills with a hero mech. Even though the base earnings have been lowered (by roughly 20-30%) a 30% bonus is still a 30% bonus. It's not like you can elect to go back to the old c-bill earnings.

So, make 100k in a non-hero, you could have made 130k if you were in a hero mech.

Sure, the 30% is fewer c-bills than it used to be, but that certainly doesn't make it pointless.