I'd Like To "stick" Mwo (Newb Stick Inquiry)

26 replies to this topic

#21 Blyze

• PipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 30 posts
  • LocationMaine

Posted 30 August 2013 - 04:30 PM

View PostEyeDie I, on 30 August 2013 - 07:43 AM, said:

i have an old thrustmaster top gun stick with a mark2 wpns controller and rudder pedals from my mw2 mercenaries days that i cant attach to my comp anymore,i dont know how to with windows7 and no game port.

You need something like this:

http://www.ebay.com/...s-/261267773820

Posted Image

#22 Icedman

• PipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 42 posts

Posted 30 August 2013 - 05:03 PM

I love my joystick in left hand... set twist on the joystick to mech legs and throttle to HAT switch up and down. Mouse for torso/arm movement and groups 1,2,4 and zoom (for me). I use joystick trigger for 3, which is generally missiles on my mechs.

Seems to work nicely.

#23 StarGeezer

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSyracuse NY, USA

Posted 04 September 2013 - 10:52 AM

Thought I'd provide a bit of an update to my progress:

About a week after using the analog Throttle, I guess the proof of the pudding is in the tasting. In roughly 350 matches so far, I've brought my KDR up from the cesspool of barely .1 to .33 in a week (technically a little less, as I didn't play over the long weekend.) While I'm certain part of this is the improved accuracy and reaction of the new controller, I'm also sure part of it is finally getting a modecum of field situational awareness, position, strategy, etc Keep in mind too that aside from running duos with my buddy, all of my matches have been PUGs. No telling where I might be if I managed to get into a fairly well-run 4-man Lance with voice chat.

Soooo, conclusion: for me, the flight stick/throttle was a definite improvement. Very pleased thus far, and now I very well may look into a more robust controller.

#24 Hammerhai

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 998 posts