12 replies to this topic

#1 Bront

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Urban Commando
  • Urban Commando
  • 4,212 posts
  • LocationInternet

Posted 13 August 2013 - 10:22 AM

I'm just getting into Cents, and find the A fun, but looking at the D, the differences seem to be minor. Cent-D has an extra Ballistic slot in the arm, 1 less Missile and module slot, but can mount stupidly large engines. Seems like there's little reason to keep both of them around once you master the chasis (or simply ignore one entirely if you get an Wang).

Are there any effective builds you can build on the Cent-A that you can't replicate on the Cent-D? Is that 3rd missile slot really that useful? I'm having trouble finding a good build that uses it without sacrificing mobility or the ballistic.

#2 Elyam

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 538 posts
  • LocationDenver, CO

Posted 13 August 2013 - 10:41 AM

Some people are very dedicated to that 3rd missile slot. Unless you are, take the D. I'm going t pick one up again soon. I can live with the 2/3 missile in order to get the speed option and the ability to load 2xAC5 or AC5+AC2 for suppressive fire.

#3 Dracol

• The Steadfast
  • The Steadfast
  • 2,539 posts
  • LocationSW Florida

Posted 13 August 2013 - 10:55 AM

The cent D makes a very good zombie mech with standard engine, 2 Med lasers, 16 to 18 srms... and maybe a machine gun. With ammo placed in the left torso with case, you'll take forever to go down. Legs are becoming favorite targets on cents so ammo placement in them is not recommanded.

The cent A excels as a very fast medium. Dual srm 6 , two Med lasers, and machine guns for the greatest speed, or an AC/5 for some extra punch. Place the biggest XL you can afford and start wrecking with hit and run tactics.

In either case, just a reminder, hit / to open your missle doors if running srms. The delay with em closed is a ***** to compensate for at close range.

#4 Smokeyjedi

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip