- - - - -

Score = Damage?

14 replies to this topic

#1 Vampiricfish

Rookie

• 1 posts

Posted 05 September 2013 - 07:51 AM

Hey guys,

I'm brand new to MW:o but I have played several of the other games. I absolutely love light and (fast) medium mechs (gameplay wise in MW:O as well so far), which leads me to a problem in matches.

Every single game, even capturing a bunch of stuff and lighting up enemies for the big guns, I get <...> all in score (and as such xp and c-bills?) So what am I doing wrong here? Am I not supposed to scout and cap but try to outgun/snipe the big guys? I've read a whole bunch of guides for lights and mediums that suggest capping and scouting is exactly what I'm supposed to do, but for as far as I can see this is not rewarded in any way (except winning the match, but with almost no score, does that bring me anything significant?) :<

The way I read the scores, basically being a big assault/heavy with as many weapons as possible is the only thing that's rewarded in MW:O. I hope I'm reading that wrong, so please enlighten a poor noob about these things (or point me to a guide that does and I have somehow missed)

TLDR:

-What is score based on
-Are lights/fast meds useful for anything but giving the big guns more score by winning?

#2 JonahGrimm

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 166 posts

Posted 05 September 2013 - 08:07 AM

As a relatively new player, I'll defer to others on some of the finer points, but... well. I'm a Raven junkie.

To that end, I feel your pain... except, it's.. er.. sort of not pain, just part of the learning curve. As a light mech, you should be scouting and capping, yes, most definitely! However, scouting and capping alone doesn't win matches.