Variants

7 replies to this topic

#1 Freelancer604

Rookie

• Liquid Metal
  • Liquid Metal
  • 8 posts

Posted 14 September 2013 - 06:51 PM

Hi, im new to the game, and I was wondering whether different variants of a mech differ only in the default loadout and set hardpoints, or if the number of slots in its limbs also differ? I do not understand why the game does not allow you to view a mech's layout before actually buying it..

In my particular case, I am wondering whether the cataphract with jumpjets is able to fit a pair of Gauss like my Ilya.. not sure if its arms have enough slots to fit them.

#2 BL00D RAVEN

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 14 September 2013 - 07:08 PM

yes, and this will help in the future
http://mwo.smurfy-net.de/

#3 aniviron

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,752 posts

Posted 14 September 2013 - 07:18 PM

The different variants do indeed have different numbers/types/locations of hardpoints, and it is also correct that only certain variants can mount jumpjets. As Blood Raven says above, Smurfy's online mechlab is invaluable for trying out different setups to see what's possible before you buy something.

To answer your particular question, yes, you can fit two gauss on a CTF-3D. A build for it would look something like this:
http://mwo.smurfy-ne...95b57880f494d88 That's just a quick mockup though, you can play around with it to suit your tastes.

Good hunting, and ask around if you have any other questions!

#4 Freelancer604

Rookie

• Liquid Metal
  • Liquid Metal
  • 8 posts

Posted 14 September 2013 - 08:01 PM

Thanks much guys. This smurfy site is pretty handy.

Oh.. one more thing, what does the top speed in green mean? EDIT:nevermind i figured it out. Wow.. the speed tweak adds THAT much speed? I guess owning 3 variants of a mech that you play a lot is a must.

By the way, can you buy 3 variants, max them, and sell 2 of them and still use the elite perks on the last one?