Looking For A Good Quality Video Capture Program

14 replies to this topic

#1 Burned_Follower

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 472 posts
  • Facebook: Link
  • LocationDanielsville, Georgia

Posted 07 October 2013 - 05:26 PM

I'm looking for a good quality video capture program.

I started off using Fraps(the full version) for several months and it crashes the heck out of MWO. It started off with me having to WAIT until I'm connected into a match and I'm watching my mech pilot start to press buttons inside my cockpit before I press record or I crash...I also have to "stop recording" before I click on "exit match"...or I crash.

...but now my MWO client crashes in the middle of gameplay. After some troubleshooting I learned that these new crashes are also due to Fraps.

I'm now in the market to replace this. I'm trying to create good quality videos specifically of MWO to upload to youtube to use for recruitment videos, possibly tutorials down the road, etc. I'm a complete noob to video editing software so I'm in the process of teaching myself how to do it, along with learning what I can via google or forums like this one.

So here's my questions:

1. Anybody know of a good video capture/editor program that
a. that costs under 100 bucks?
b. that I can record my entire desktop, and not just ingame
c. that doesn't crash MWO?

2. Anybody know about/have experience with AVS? I'm experimenting with a free version and having problems but I can't tell if it's due to "free trial" limitations or if AVS is just junk like Fraps

#2 evilC

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 1,298 posts
  • LocationLondon, UK

Posted 08 October 2013 - 03:29 AM

The big issue with capture utilities is the encode.
Ideally you want to compress to H.264 or similar, to avoid the ridiculous file sizes of raw captures, but H.264 encoding is quite intensive if done via software.

You have a few options:
1) Software encode (eg FRAPS)