22 replies to this topic

#1 summet

• Pip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 14 posts
  • LocationUS

Posted 31 October 2013 - 09:29 AM

I am a little new to Mech Warrior Online, and I am planning on buying my first mech soon. I have found that though the heavies and the assault mechs have great fire power, I cannot stand how slow they move. I die much too fast with them. However, with the light mechs, I find that they are quite fast, but are not very powerful. I stay alive longer and get more kills with the small ones, rather than the heavies. I also was experimenting with the medium mechs, and I have come to love the loadout they have on the trial mech now. I do not know the termanology, but all I know is that it is a Centurion(?). The primary (Left click) weapon is short range missiles and the secondary (Right click) is a laser of some sort.

What I am asking is, should I go with a light or a medium mech? What mech of that type would be good for a (sort of) beginner? Thanks!

#2 knight-of-ni

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 1,627 posts
  • Location/dev/null

Posted 31 October 2013 - 10:13 AM

Generally speaking, most are going to recommend a medium mech to start with. In a light mech, one mistake can mean instant death. To do well in a light mech takes practice.
A medium mech is more forgiving. You are not as fast as a light, but you've got much more speed and maneuverability than the larger mechs. A Centurion or a Hunchback would be a great start. However, understand that your opponents will be targeting specific parts of each of these mechs: Centurion (right arm) and Hunchback (the hunch). Once you earn cbills, modify your mechs with this in mind.

#3 Nothing Whatsoever

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 3,655 posts
  • LocationNowhere

Posted 31 October 2013 - 10:24 AM

That Centurion is a solid first mech to get.

And if you care, you can get the other Centurions to unlock their Mech efficiencies.