59 replies to this topic

#41 Koniving

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Guide
  • The Guide
  • 23,384 posts

Posted 03 November 2013 - 05:34 PM

Most SRMs fired tend not to detect too well. In the very last video above I happened to be mentioning that. After the recent patches it's improved but it is still awful. Besides the 4J's hunch is too large to be brawling with. It's got the biggest hunch of all.

#42 Damoadius

• PipPipPip
  • The Blazing
  • The Blazing
  • 50 posts
  • LocationAustralia.

Posted 03 November 2013 - 08:55 PM

Each time im finally convinced Ive made a decent build, this happens :( Ive mentioned this in my other posts. Being a new player im still learning the ins and outs. Learning not to trust logic, but the stats and evidence i see infront of me.

Ad still getting it messed up :/

HBK-4J - Revised w/SSRMs... Im gonna roll that and see how i go. Like ive said, not fussed on missles. So hopefully this lil guy can win me over.

Cheers again guys. Happy hunting.

#43 Wrenchfarm

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Big Brother
  • Big Brother
  • 1,039 posts

Posted 21 November 2013 - 11:58 PM

Mediums are a little out of sorts right now, getting outclassed by Heavies in some pretty significant ways (just about as fast, MUCH more armour and firepower).

That said, the Hunch is still a great workhorse.

I particularly love the HBK-4P. 8 MLAS (6 in hunch, 2 in the arms) with 18 DHS and a big old 275STD engine is VERY nice. The hunch is a 30 damage pinpoint strike every 3 seconds. You can wreak nightmarish levels of damage by sneaking around an Assault mech and melting his back armour in one quick burst. Then you just eat the insides. With the 275, you'll be manoeuvrable to do it.

It does run hot. Make sure to never activate the ghost heat by firing the hunch and arms too fast and it's probably wise to pack a coolant mod. Sucks to have to pay a fun tax, but it can be a life save on maps like Therma.