39 replies to this topic

#1 warhamsterdave

• Pip
  • The Mercenary
  • The Mercenary
  • 15 posts
  • LocationScarborough North Yorkshire UK when not at sea

Posted 31 October 2013 - 03:35 AM

A big hello to you all at the mechwarrior online comunity.

I have just downloaded the game but due to working on a ship with very limited bandwidth I will have to wait untill ashore before I can play any games.

I have been interested in Mech's ever since back in the 80's making models and later playing Adeptus Titanicus.

I am very new to this online gaming thing and only a few months ago started to play world of tanks and thought this would be great if it was in the future with giant customisable mechs. And look what I have found, haha.

My main question to you is when I can get ashore and play, what are your top tips for someone like me who is new to mechwarrior and the whole genrer?

I have invested in the project pheonix as I am a great believer in helping to keep a game that is F2P supported as I can at present afford to do this and it will help in the longrun by keeping the game running.

Thanks in advance for any tips.

PS...... I cannot watch youtube while onboard.

Dave

#2 ArkNemesis

• PipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 28 posts
  • LocationParis

Posted 31 October 2013 - 03:58 AM

My advices :

- Stay with your teammates

- Don't check somewhere if you d'on't have an assault

- Keep your c-bills (you will gain a lot for your 25 first matches : cadet bonus) until you know what you will buy as first mech

- Use the trial mech to try the different classes

- Medium (hunchback) and heavy (cataphract, catapult, jager) are the best first mechs (from my point of view)

- Never buy ferro-fibrous if you can buy endo-steel instead

- And read some of the marvellous guide you can find above this topic (pinned) :D

Have fun on battlefied!