- - - - -

Map Strategy Guides?

16 replies to this topic

#1 Space Beer

Rookie

• 3 posts

Posted 08 November 2013 - 05:23 AM

I'm new to the game and most of it is sinking in. I've searched the forum but have not found any guides on what the best strategies are for different maps.

There are a lot of posts on what not to do on certain maps which helps some. Has anyone taken the time to put together any guides on specific maps? Good places to defend/not defend? Safe versus dangerous routes?

Actually, some kind of guide that covers the basics of positioning and using the terrain would be perfect if it is out there.

Let me know if I am missing something. Thanks.

#2 Dalziel Hasek Davion

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 215 posts
  • LocationOxfordshire, UK

Posted 08 November 2013 - 06:59 AM

Successful strategy is less about map and more about communication and coordination. Map-specific guides tend to dissolve into more general dos and don't to do with choke points fighting uphill/downhill, jump-sniping and avoiding being caught in open terrain.

Choke-points. Firing lines build naturally around choke-points. A choke point will limit the space for a force to move through and should enable a defending team to build a firing line that allows them, with suitable leadership, to bring all guns to bear on a small attacking front. Enemies attempting to force the choke will be taken down quickly one at a time whilst causing minimum damage. Tactics involve waiting and letting the enemy try and force the choke, effective cycling of damaged 'Mechs from line-of-sight and flanking/disrupting the enemy firing line to allow a push to succeed.

Missile cover. Some terrain features can be used to block line-of-sight (rocks and low buildings), some can block incoming missiles (bridges) and some can block both (tunnels and tall buildings). Use this to launch attacks/snipe and avoid return fire from missiles.