Name Kungsarmé

13 replies to this topic

#1 sisAlmighty

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 02:13 AM

Hi!

Just wanted to give a headsup that the word kungsarmé isn't entirely accurate. Im a noob so i don't even know if this is something you people at the forum here can manipulate. Howerver it should say KungensArmé (The kings army) or KungligaArmén (The royal army) depending on which you lean against. Or you could just let it be as it is. It's accurate enough for non-swedes :).

Anyway gl hf best wishes etc // sisAlmighty

#2 Jarl Dane

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Generalløytnant
  • Generalløytnant
  • 1,803 posts
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationJarnFolk Cluster

Posted 07 November 2013 - 04:53 AM

The name Kungsarme comes from in-game BattleTech lore that is over 20 years old.

As for it being incorrect, who knows how Swedish will change in the next 1,000 years =)

Anyways, as I said this has been the canon name for the FFR's army for a very long time. It's basically a historical fact that'll never change and there is nothing any of us lowly players could do to alter that - even if we wanted.

#3 stjobe

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 9,498 posts
  • LocationOn your six, chipping away at your rear armour.

Posted 07 November 2013 - 05:37 AM

It should be Kungsarmén - the n at the end signifying singular form. The Swedish army is simply called "Armén" ("the army") or "Svenska Armén" ("the Swedish army"). They've dropped the "Royal" part long ago, but that would have been "Kungliga Armén" ("the Royal army").

But I'm with the Dane on this; it's not Swedish, it's Swedenese :)

#4 Scromboid

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Philanthropist
  • Philanthropist
  • 456 posts
  • LocationBlue Ridge Mountains

Posted 07 November 2013 - 06:00 AM

What?

#5 Surtr

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • Elite Founder
  • 566 posts
  • LocationDropship Naglfar, Clan Front

Posted 07 November 2013 - 02:03 PM