2 replies to this topic

#1 Dreden Aelnir

• PipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 42 posts
  • LocationDragoon TOC

Posted 17 December 2013 - 09:40 AM

Let me start by saying I like this game...I don't however LOVE it. I have been playing Battletech since high school (~23 years ago) and have played every incarnation since. When MWO was announced I was VERY excited as what was promised was a immersive experience set in a universe that I know and love. However what we got was a World of Tanks clone with "lazers".

The path laid out by the devs is "maybe" enough to keep my interest but the details and a real time table are sorely lacking. What is missing is the FEEL of the BT/MW universe and a, at least a percieved, lack of appreciation of it from the devs. What follows is some thoughts on what I would like to see happen to the game to bring it back into alignment with the lore/canon/feel of a universe that doesn't need to be reinvented...

Introduction (Learning Curve)/New Player Experience:
Problem:
Given your business model you have developed a system in which new players are thrown to the wolves (us) without understanding the basics of the game. Yes you make money selling them mechs they barely know how to pilot but do you think they will be around after getting demolished, game after game? Additionaly, given the business model, there is no progression to keep them coming back. From minute one they have access to every mech in the game, which is bad for business and limits the reasons to maintain a premium account.

Solution:
The solution for this is threefold.
First, 4-5 missions of PvE content (NOT tutorials, but actual content with money and exp) in which they are introduced to the game, earn a little cash to start and aren't complete noobs on their first drop.