5 replies to this topic

#1 Shagohad

• PipPipPip
  • Storm
  • Storm
  • 58 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 29 December 2013 - 11:01 AM

I got a sketchbook for Christmas and it's my ambition to hone my mech-based art skills. So far, they're pretty terribad. I've been doodling Victor cockpits, Atlas faces, and joints for study, but I feel rather lost.

So any advice for a new artist who has little experience aside from head study and basic shapes? Thanks.

#2 ValdnadHartagga

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • LocationBehind enemy lines

Posted 29 December 2013 - 12:31 PM

Hi, I'm a high school art teacher IRL ^_^

My tips:
  • If you feel like you've messed up, don't cross it out or throw it away. Keep it, and write notes on why you think your drawing needs improvement; try to hit those points on the next one. Identify your biggest weaknesses and post them on the wall so you can see them every day; you might have a Eureka moment. Until you have a final, everything is a sketch and is thus expendable - go to town with a red marker to identify points you want to work on.
  • Also find out what you're good at - note these in blue or green.
  • Always practice before committing to the final. My advanced students will go through a dozen iterations of their work (or I will make them do so) before they're really satisfied.
  • Never stop practicing. One sketchbook is not enough. I would say to get yourself some newsprint pads, they're super cheap. If you want to be good at actuators, just draw actuators all day!
  • If you're unsure whether to do something or not, make a copy (trace or photocopy) and then try out your idea on that. Alternatively, if you can afford them, use transparencies or even saran wrap and a marker. Even super thin tissue paper can work depending on how dark your work is.