#1 Mott

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Caladbolg
  • Caladbolg
  • 887 posts
  • Location[MW] Ransom's Corsairs

Posted 08 January 2014 - 06:38 AM

Hello All,

I'm a recent noob, having just DL'd MWO 3 nights ago. I'm pretty much hooked - as I expected to be considering how much i loved MW3 online back in my college days - and that's a bad thing as I'm also growing very frustrated.

Currently I own the HBK-4P & CTF-3D. The hunchback is running with just 6MedL and 1PPC. The Cataphract has 1LB10x, 1UAC5 and 4MedL. Both have slightly increased armor.

The reason i'm getting frustrated is my continual low damage per match, despite 50%+ accuracy rates. I prefer a lance support role, either by living in the shadow of a slow Assault and covering his back, or curving along inside the arching path of some lights flanking our enemy and pulling fire away from them.
Because of my style, i don't get to take many shots (often blocked by the larger assaults who are eager to unleash their payload and think nothing of stepping in front of my sniping LoS) but I strive for quality shots.

But i'm finding the payoff isn't there. I'm regularly getting <100 damage per match. I tried switching things up with the CTF-3D, and going balls-out with the LB10x and UAC5 unleashing 43LB10x rounds and 64 UAC5 rounds with 63% and 58% accuracy respectively in my best match... and still only ended up with 135 points of damage that game.

What am I missing here? I hate being a net negative impact player. It's driving me nuts!

#2 Arnold J Rimmer

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Civil Servant
  • Civil Servant
  • 892 posts

Posted 08 January 2014 - 06:58 AM

If your accuracies are that high and you're loosing that many shots, I'd ask if you were keeping to your effective ranges first. Energy and ballistic weapons' damage tails off after their 'maximum' ranges, out to double and triple range respectively.