'right Hook' Hunchback Builds?

10 replies to this topic

#1 Lord Reaver

Rookie

• The Corsair
  • The Corsair
  • 4 posts

Posted 15 January 2014 - 09:00 PM

Bit of history - I bought a Hunchback -4H a long time ago, when I started playing MWO, and ended up selling it rapidly because I didn't 'get' it. Now I've given it another go and it's rapidly won my heart, getting played while my Phoenix mechs, Misery and other heroes sit gathering dust.

So far I've played very conventionally; 5x ML + LB10-X, 3x ML + AC/20, that sort of thing.

But I was curious about playing a version that minimizes the use of the 'hunch' in favour of survivable firepower, namely by plugging a big gun on the left hand; the idea being to keep your best firepower even if the hunch gets blown away.

I came up with the below quickly, but I'd like to know how the pros do it.

HBK-4H
260 STD, 17 DHS, LL, 4x ML

Edited by Lord Reaver, 15 January 2014 - 09:40 PM.

#2 Hex Pallett

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Urban Commando
  • Urban Commando
  • 2,009 posts
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationHomeless, in the streets of Solaris 7

Posted 15 January 2014 - 11:44 PM

Pointless.

First, enemies will see your loadout anyway. Second, the arm is less armored than the hunch and - since you need to be facing your target for a while to dish out any laser damage - not all that much harder to hit, Third, if you think a single LLas would do any real damage on anything below 120 km/h, you're wrong.

#3 MungFuSensei

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 254 posts

Posted 16 January 2014 - 01:12 AM