Tactical Use Of A Mech

7 replies to this topic

#1 Lith7ium

Rookie

• Survivor
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 January 2014 - 08:39 AM

Hey, don't get me wrong. I love this game, even though i just started playing it. But i was wondering, what a tactical use a mech would have on the battlefield.

Tanks for example have a much lower silhouette, making it much harder to hit. it can also fight, when both tracks are shot off, it would not fall over.

so why should you use a mech? besides being manly as ****!

#2 Hex Pallett

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Urban Commando
  • Urban Commando
  • 2,009 posts
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationHomeless, in the streets of Solaris 7

Posted 29 January 2014 - 10:01 AM

One think I can think of is limitation of space. If we're talking about MechWarrior type of 'mech, it's basically like stacking five tanks together while taking the ground clearance of one. Besides, with legs you can simply walk over lots of stuff instead of maneuvering around.

Look, technology in BattleTech is clearly in another era that armor weights a lot less and guns are much heavier (just go look at the specs of an M1Abrams and you'll see). It's sci-fi!

#3 Gladewolf

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Shredder
  • Shredder
  • 464 posts
  • LocationUnited States

Posted 29 January 2014 - 10:49 AM

View PostLith7ium, on 29 January 2014 - 08:39 AM, said:

Hey, don't get me wrong. I love this game, even though i just started playing it. But i was wondering, what a tactical use a mech would have on the battlefield.

Tanks for example have a much lower silhouette, making it much harder to hit. it can also fight, when both tracks are shot off, it would not fall over.

so why should you use a mech? besides being manly as ****!