Mech Design Hbk-4Sp

13 replies to this topic

#1 Guard913

• Pip
  • Giant Helper
  • 18 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 09:23 AM

Not sure if this is in the right spot if not can it be moved. I would like some feedback on this build:
HBK-4SP

I would like to ask that you keep comments respectful and easy to understand. This is just to be used until I get it elited then it will be sold. (I will keep Components from it though)

Thanks!!

Edited by Guard913, 06 February 2014 - 09:24 AM.

#2 Wiley Coyote

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 612 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 09:35 AM

While I'm no expert, I don't think this is a good build. The mech itself is not set up for LRM boating. You have only 18 volleys with 40 tubes. You have no TAG/BAP and must rely solely on others for targets. You're slow as molasses and have no close range weaponry for defense when those lights come in to pick you apart.

I've got one of these in my mechbay and I feel it's much more effective with the SRMs, MLs and larger engine. I did decently well in it (haven't used it in a while) but if you want to be more of a missile boat as a medium, go with a Trebuchet or step up to a Catapult.

#3 DarthPeanut

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Liquid Metal
  • 861 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 09:47 AM

If I was building a 4SP, I would not do an LRM boat. I am also no expert either but I do not think a Hunchback (or any medium mech really) can really have the tonnage to be a good LRM platform.

Slow with only a 170, no bap, no artemis, no tag, no backup weapons, etc... handicapping yourself big time.

I think I would go with an srm/ laser combination and larger engine for speed to move. Build it to be a medium range capable mech with good short range punch as well.

My 2 cents.

Edited by DarthPeanut, 06 February 2014 - 09:47 AM.

#4 Guard913

• Pip
  • Giant Helper
  • 18 posts

Posted 06 February 2014 - 09:49 AM