12 replies to this topic

#1 Wine O

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The Devoted
  • The Devoted
  • 109 posts
  • LocationAlberta, Canada

Posted 01 March 2014 - 06:32 PM

Not sure if this is the best part of the forum for this topic but it is as good as any. For an intro, I play MechWarrior inside an ambulance and I am parked in the middle of the bush in northern Alberta Canada. There are caribou and wolves outside my truck, I see them daily. When I go to the bathroom outside, I fear bear or cougar attacks. I am about 100km from the nearest civilization but I found out how to mech despite the isolation. I am an EMT working in an industrial setting and I usually work 2 -3 weeks straight for 12 - 14 hours per day, all of it just sitting in my ambulance waiting for a call. No calls in 2014 so far. That's a lot of time to kill if I don't have any patients. I have spent a ton of money and time figuring this out. Here is what you need:

1) Gaming laptop. I have an MSI Red Dragon 2 with all the bells and whistles. I also bring a lesser machine as a backup in case something goes down with this one. Always be prepared. Keep an eye on the power draw. My beast sucks 180 watts going balls out which is way too much for any truck but keep reading, we have solutions.