#21 IraqiWalker

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • 9,682 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 05 April 2014 - 02:40 AM

View PostDock Steward, on 04 April 2014 - 08:55 PM, said:

I feel like I would never again land a hit on a light mech. Or I stand perfectly still, and shoot with my eyes closed so his buddies can't see me :P

On the other hand, that light won't land a hit on your accurately while going 150kph.

EDIT:

So since I got into a MW:O binge recently, I got the old flame back in me, and so I installed MW4 Vengeance, Black Knight and Mercenaries. It felt like the crosshairs did sway (or maybe it was my shaky mouse, who knows). However, I will say this: Even though I am mainly a light mech pilot, and implementing this would probably ruin the way I pilot my mechs, I think it would be fun to test out. I think the idea warrants some messing with and some tweaking.

Edited by IraqiWalker, 05 April 2014 - 02:43 AM.

#22 Artgathan

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 1,764 posts

Posted 05 April 2014 - 05:11 AM

This system, while interesting has a few problems:
  • It really punishes DoT Weapons (since the beam will go all over the place)
  • It doesn't really affect pinpoint weapons (you just need to be a little patient and wait for the swaying reticule to end up where you want it before pulling the trigger)
  • It doesn't affect LRMs / Streaks
Essentially this system would disproportionately nerf beam weapons. I agree we need something to break up damage application, but I'm not convinced this is it.

A while ago I wrote about a system where your reticule is a large circle, and applies damage to components based on what proportion of the circle they're taking up (IE: If I fire an AC/20 and 2 ML while I have 50% of my reticule on the enemy CT and 25% on each ST, the AC/20 would strike the CT and 1 ML would hit each ST).

#23 Bishop Steiner

ForumWarrior