Windows 7 Uac Prompt Solution

26 replies to this topic

#1 Kylere

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 690 posts
  • LocationCincinnati

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:16 PM

Okay, I HATE clicking okay everytime, I know it is petty, but I work in IT and have better things to do with my time, like, you know, PLAYING.

You can turn of the User Access Control, That would work for me, but not something I recommend for everyone.
- http://windows.micro...ntrol-on-or-off

You can kill that specific policy in secpol to stop that particular part of UAC, but that is like cutting your dogs throat to stop him from barking.
- http://answers.micro...48-f395bf1c519d

[redacted]

Note from staff:
Please note that this is a Windows OS level change that completely at the user's risk.
We've removed the third solution as we cannot support third party scripts that can potentially harm a computer system.

Edited by miSs, 21 May 2013 - 11:12 AM.

#2 Mercules

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Nimble
  • The Nimble
  • 5,136 posts
  • LocationPlymouth, MN

Posted 30 November 2012 - 01:06 PM

I would recommend turning it off before recommending downloading a 3rd party app that messes with what is essentially a security aspect of your computer. You have granted a 3rd party control the permission to interfere with UAC without knowing what else it might have in it. This is effectively WORSE than disabling UAC, at least then you know you are not protected and not assuming you are while installing a potential malware.

#3 Kylere

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 690 posts
  • LocationCincinnati

Posted 30 November 2012 - 02:51 PM

Mercules, you are entitled to your own opinion. I know what else it has in it, before I recommended it to anyone I checked it out deeply. It does not alter UAC and offers an alternative to turning it off completely which is only for professionals and fools.

#4 Aesaar

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 237 posts
  • LocationOttawa, Ontario, Canada