- - - - -

What's The Loadout?

21 replies to this topic

#1 wolfpuppy

• Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 02 June 2014 - 05:11 PM

I started playing MechWarrior back in the day when Activision first came out with it. I remember how one could go into the mech lab and see all the mechs and the weapons that could be put on them.

Correct me if I am wrong, but it doesn't seem like it works that way now. For example, I am in the market to buy a mech, and I would like to be able to use the gauss gun. In the earlier MechWarrior games, I seem to remember that you could use just about any weapon you wanted on just about any mech, as long as you could afford it, there was room for it, and it wasn't too heavy. The important thing was that all information on the mech was there to read. You could pick your mech according to whatever loadout you wanted, within reasonable parameters.

My problem (and I may just be missing something) is that I haven't been able to research the various mechs to the point where I can tell what weapons they can use. Unlike the earlier version, these mechs seem to have proprietary weapon systems. Furthermore, I have not been able to determine how to "see" what these weapon systems are for any given mech. When I go to the store and bring up all the mechs, I can get no information on what weapons they use. I can't tell whether any given mech uses all energy, can carry a gauss rifle, or what. From what I can tell, it seems as though I will be buying a 'Pig in a Poke', because it appears that I won't know what weapon systems will be on it until I buy it.

There are only two possibilities. One, I am not looking in the right place and am doing it all wrong, or, two, this is an omission by the devs. I am hoping that it is the former, because if it is the latter, I am going to have to spend a lot of time on this forum to figure out which mechs I should get and which ones to avoid.

#2 Koniving

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip