Best Cooler For Amd X6 1100T

9 replies to this topic

#1 Hougham

• PipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 12:09 PM

At the moment my AMD X6 1100T that has the stock AMD cooler installed. Its a noisy thing that is not all that great at cooling. So I am just looking for something a little better for a spot of overclocking. I have a Cooler Master CM 690 II Case so plenty of room. Can any one recommend any option? are these closed water coolers any good? I don't wish to have to be servicing the thing all the time. Thanks

#2 Lostdragon

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 2,711 posts
  • LocationAlabama

Posted 20 June 2014 - 12:19 PM

There are some very good closed loop liquid coolers on the market, just be sure to double check the dimensions of the one you want vs. the room you have in your case with other components installed. I have a full server chassis and had some issues getting one of these in it. Here is a pretty good review of several options:

http://www.anandtech...-liquid-coolers

Edit: And by "had some issues" I mean I could not fit a 280mm radiator with 4 fans in it on the rear fan mounts. I wound up doing some major modifications and mounting the radiator to the top of the case after cutting holes out for it and modifying a mounting bracket I had.

Edited by Lostdragon, 20 June 2014 - 12:24 PM.

#3 ninjitsu

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • FP Veteran - Beta 2
  • FP Veteran - Beta 2
  • 402 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 12:30 PM

This one is popular http://www.newegg.co...N82E16835103099

#4 Hougham

• PipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 12:33 PM

Thank you for that great link Lostdragon and Ninjitsu. I see that the Corsair H100i looks to come out rather well in the review. That's good news because I have found a few links online saying its a easy fit in my case if you have the right motherboard like this http://cdn.overclock...9_DSCN0451.jpeg It is rather tempting

Edited by Hougham, 20 June 2014 - 12:35 PM.