Advice On Spending Money

37 replies to this topic

#1 Totenxcx

• PipPip
  • The Warhead
  • The Warhead
  • 38 posts

Posted 15 August 2014 - 12:34 AM

I started playing the game recently and found it enjoyable enough to justify spending money on it. At first I was really keen on buying a timber/dire wolf a la carte. But now after waiting for my hype to pass and looking at other options I wonder if it's better if I got 12k mc for the similar price and buy hero mechs, hangar bays and paints when they're on sale. What do you think?

#2 Modo44

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 3,559 posts

Posted 15 August 2014 - 12:45 AM

Welcom to MWO.

The only really necessary long-term purchase is mechbays, since they allow you to unlock skills and change weight classes without selling and re-buying mechs. Everything else revolves around fluff or preorders, which you can safely skip. Colors (unlocked for all mechs) and hero mechs (30% moar Cbills) are the most desirable purchases after mechbays. The rest is really a matter of how much disposable income you like to get rid of.

The Clan mechs are coming out for MC/Cbills slowly, and they do get minor MC sales on introduction. You would have to wait until next year for a bigger sale on those.

Hero mechs, camos, and other stuff is on sale pretty much every week. It is a wait and see game -- they only get announced as they start. Up to 50% off of hero mechs is pretty nice.

As far as MC buying goes, there will most likely be a sale at or around Black Friday. The most optimal use of your money would be to get a big MC package then, followed by waiting on sales for a double discount on whichever items you want. That would mean a long time, though, so I would suggest a smaller MC package for some mechbays and colors, and a hero mech or two.

Edited by Modo44, 15 August 2014 - 12:46 AM.

#3 Sky Hawk

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • LocationDeep Periphery, aka Hungary

Posted 15 August 2014 - 12:48 AM