I'm New Here. Halp Plz. :p

Help Me

7 replies to this topic

#1 Leviathan Lucas

Rookie

• 1 posts
  • LocationAbilene, Tx, USA

Posted 05 September 2014 - 08:36 PM

Hi, I'm fairly new to MechWarrior online. I'm a noob, I'll be the first to say that. What I was wondering is just basic play style and how to customize my mechs and which mechs are good. Basically, if it's common knowledge, I don't know it, and you should help me because you're nice.

#2 Redshift2k5

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Stone Cold
  • Stone Cold
  • 11,975 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland

Posted 05 September 2014 - 08:50 PM

Here's a list of guides, this will cover pretty much everything http://mwomercs.com/...uidestutorials/

You can't customize any mechs until you've bought one; in the mean time you have a pile of "trial mechs" you can borrow.

Most mechs are pretty good, although they're good at different things. A super fast Jenner with 6 medium lasers is doing a very different job than a Heavy mech kitted to be a sniper.

You'll want to play the trial mechs, see what you like. Save your C-bills. You get a free bonus fro your first 25 matches called a "cadet bonus", after 25 matches you can buy your own mech and start customizing. Choose carefully, although if you make a real stinker of it you can always make a new account and collect the cadet bonus again ;)

Welcome aboard, please feel free to ask any specific questions that come up :)

#3 IllCaesar

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 980 posts

Posted 05 September 2014 - 08:58 PM

Welcome to MWO, have a seat, there's a lot to learn. I'll make this post assuming that you know the basic movements of piloting a mech, since you chose a faction and are therefore likely to be familiar with the franchise. There's a ton of strategies, but I tired so I'll keep it short and just list two major things.