Need Some Advice On The Awesome 9M.

21 replies to this topic

#1 Rando Slim

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Cub
  • The Cub
  • 459 posts

Posted 07 September 2014 - 02:54 PM

Hi, so Im a really inexperienced assault pilot. I have Battlemasters, and the two clan assaults. Im not very good in any of them IMO. The Awesomes are the only "bad" chassis I haven't tried.

So this weekend I bought three Awesomes (I like a challenge): the Q, the 8V, and the 9M. Im amazed so far at how much I DONT like the 9M, what do I do with it? It has 4 hardpoints in the CT (stupid). Its missile tubes are puny, and putting an XL engine in it seems like suicide. Which means the only thing to do with it is just make it a faster, weaker 8Q. That's boring. So right now I have a STD 340, 3 ER Large and 3 mediums in it. Its OK, I dunno what else can I do? Apparently its supposed to use streaks but like......IS streaks are really weak right now. I had one match in my 8V where I played really well and a fellow Awesome pilot commented "you make the Awesomes proud", which is probably the coolest compliment I've ever gotten in this game, and it has motivated me to get.........Awesome...... with these things. So tell me folks, what is a 9M build that will make Awesomes everywhere proud?

#2 orion0117

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The Clamps
  • The Clamps
  • 126 posts
  • LocationAbyssal Netz

Posted 07 September 2014 - 03:54 PM

9M is the only AWS I kept because it can run an engine large enough to make the chassis move. It's too big to move slow IMHO.

I WAS much enjoying the 9M with 3 PPCs, XL375, DHS, and I think I had a BAP to fill out the weight.

Not so much now since PPCs move like molasses in January. I switched over to ERLLs in place of the PPCs + TAG but now I believe I heard the ERLL got the nerf treatment last patch.

Seems like back in the day when I bought the 9M the go to was 1 Large Lazor in the arm, 2 SRM6, maybe 2 medium lazors in the CT.