9 replies to this topic

#1 Deathz Jester

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 2,107 posts
  • LocationOH, USA

Posted 31 January 2015 - 08:23 AM

I'm wondering if anyone here can tell me what my issue is, since admittedly I'm not very tech savvy, especially when I'm barely home and cant look things up lol.
Anyway, system runs fine (appears too), I go to shut down and it shuts down the OS (Windows 7) but the hardware, or atleast the fans and part of the hardware, its hard to tell, stay on and I have to hold the power button down to get it to completely turn off. But it will boot up just fine.
Anyone know what this could be, its been happening for about a month and I've not thought it was a serious issue, just annoying to have to go through.

#2 9erRed

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • 1,566 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 31 January 2015 - 10:39 AM

Greetings,

Your 'power button' or menu switch is or has been changed to 'sleep mode.
- By holding it you engage the full off mode.
(that can be the bottom left icon or/and the physical button)

Right click on the 'start' or icon on bottom left of taskbar, select properties,
- from the 3 tabs select 'start menu',
- see what the setting is for the power button action.

Also when you normally click the 'start button' or task bar left icon, the items that are displayed should give the same options. That should be the normal method to shut down the computer, as some background programs may take a few seconds to completely and securely close down. Just hitting the 'Off' power button could have issues and loss of info for programs.
See attached image:

Posted Image

- your options should be:
~ shutdown, switch user, log off, lock, restart, sleep

You can also set the computer to 'go to sleep' if your away or haven't touched anything for a set time, this can also be set to 'turn off'. So it will do that function by itself, with the delay that you select.