- - - - -

First Mech For An Absolute Beginner?

64 replies to this topic

#1 Tvvisted Fate

Rookie

• 3 posts

Posted 07 February 2015 - 04:35 PM

Hello everyone! I am a new MWO player and I honestly don't understand how the game works yet and which weapons and Mech's are good. I am hoping that you would be kind and point me in the right direction :) What I need is a good mech for beginners, not easily destroyed, can pack a decent punch and provide decent money income (if played well ofcourse).

I noticed people recommend Hunchback a lot but I ran into comments where people say that he is now inferior to the newer Mech's. It would mean a lot if you could recommend me a mech and post detailed build and gameplay tips. I currently have 10M of regular (free to play) currency. Thanks in advance! :)

#2 ilKhan_OrHan

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 139 posts

Posted 07 February 2015 - 04:38 PM

Timberwolf is the best mech in the game. Would keep saving until you can get your first variant.

#3 John1352

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 1,025 posts
  • LocationConnecting....

Posted 07 February 2015 - 07:47 PM

Do you want to play for the clans or the innersphere in community warfare (for starters anyway)? (if you don't care then just pick any of these mechs that look good)

If Clans, I would recommend stormcrows and timber wolves, possibly maddog, hellbringer or kitfox too.

If innersphere, jagermech, thunderbolt, wolverine, shadowhawk, firestarter are all fairly good starting points.

Go here and play with the mech you are planning to buy. http://mwo.smurfy-net.de/

#4 Kin3ticX

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The People's Hero
  • The People
  • 2,926 posts
  • LocationSalt Mines of Puglandia

Posted 08 February 2015 - 04:25 AM

Check out this guide.

General Roles in MWO
https://docs.google....d.gb8ed7ef2_037

How to think about playing solo
https://docs.google.....g37ffc0464_430