Solidworks 3D Design

11 replies to this topic

#1 DjPush

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 1,964 posts

Posted 09 February 2015 - 01:52 PM

I'm an engineering student with a license for Solidworks 2013-14. For spits and grins I would like to start making 3d design specs to make desk top models of mechs from this game. Probably for use with a 3D printer. This is for practicing with solid works. Can I get in trouble for that? I don't intend on selling the models. Maybe start a kick start fund to pay to the 3D printer. Pledges receive models for contributing to the 3D printer.

Technically I wouldn't be selling the models. I would be giving them away.

I have no idea how copy right laws work

#2 9erRed

• Overlord
  • 1,566 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 09 February 2015 - 02:03 PM

Greetings,

You will probably receive private pm's about this from those that do have the knowledge about MWO assets and 3D printing them.

Yes, just about everything referring to physical models of MWO art and BattleTech miniatures is copyrighted in some form or another. Quite a lot about this already posted, and it's not encouraging at all.

- I think you'll get in trouble from someone, or various entities, if you offer 'anything' that is not your property to start.
- Be very careful in what you post in the forums about this topic.
- Best to conduct private conversations with those that can help with the 'Solidworks' knowledge.

Good luck,
Aim True and Run Cool,
9erRed

Edited by 9erRed, 09 February 2015 - 02:04 PM.

#3 MoonUnitBeta

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Philanthropist
  • Philanthropist
  • 4,560 posts
  • LocationCanada ᕙ(⇀‸↼‶)ᕗ

Posted 09 February 2015 - 03:12 PM

You'll be using the game models to advertise your project to get money to buy your printer, this is still a no-no.
You don't have to say that you're selling something to break a copyright law. You're benefiting from their work, which you didn't receive permission to do.