Mechlab Suggestions

2 replies to this topic

#1 Xaul

Rookie

• 4 posts

Posted 23 March 2015 - 03:40 PM

I'm still a newb in MWO, but I've found the mechlab to be (very slightly) lacking in a couple of important aspects. I find it somewhat difficult to compare weapon statistics, especially ranges. It would be convenient if I could select weapons for comparison and have their statistics display in a (hide-able - for when not in use or while selecting weapons) window that shows the numbers side-by-side and line/bar graphs lined up with one another and color coded (to show which weapon each line/bar and number correspond to).

It would also be convenient if the weapon damage/range graphs used a consistent scale, numbers or both. Its hard to go from one to another and determine which has better damage at a given range (usually when comparing at ranges that are past the maximally effective range for at least one weapon) when the X and Y scales change with each one. It also seems strange that the axis scales change from one weapon to another (probably to better fit the data on the graph) yet the machine gun and flamer - having nearly mediocre ranges AND damages (weight, rate of fire, heat and ammo for the MG being their saving graces) - are not apparently fitted to the scale. Given that I haven't really bothered to compare their damage/range characteristics this hasn't been an issue for the MG and flamer, but they and all other weapons would be more comparable - regardless of the graphs - if max effective and absolute max range were also listed as numbers.