- - - - -

Starting With The Clans?

27 replies to this topic

#1 Ildar Jotun

Rookie

• Bad Company
  • 9 posts

Posted 28 July 2015 - 12:12 AM

I've started playing MWO this week, I'm still learning the ropes and following the more experienced pilots to battle.

I've read in this forums that "the best" path for a beginner is buying a cheap-but-effective medium/heavy IS mech and master it before moving on.

Now, my question is: is it completely stupid starting in the clans, aiming for a Stormcrow and mastering it? Being 4 times more expensive, we're talking around 35million vs. 8million (Hunchback's on offer) for 3 variants.

Any piece of advice for a clanner wannabe?

Thank you :)

#2 The Basilisk

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Mercenary
  • The Mercenary
  • 3,270 posts
  • LocationFrankfurt a.M.

Posted 28 July 2015 - 12:22 AM

If one is realistic, an 55 tonns IS Mech and a 55t Clan mech cost roughly the same .... in the end.
While the initial costs of IS mechs are lower you will have to upgrade it with double heat sinks, endo steel structure and maybe XL engine or an Artemis FLS. After upgrading and updating its weapons your IS Mech will cost nearly the same.

As for the Stormcrow itself I dare to say its the most dangerous medium in game, maybe with the shadowcat as its competitor.

The downside is you are essentialy learnig to play a cheese mech.

And your grind to master 3 chassis will take longer.

Edited by The Basilisk, 28 July 2015 - 12:23 AM.

#3 Rogue Jedi

• Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 4,908 posts
  • LocationSuffolk, England

Posted 28 July 2015 - 12:23 AM

for starters it is not 8 mil for the Hunchbacks, you will need to do about 2 million in upgrades (Double Heat Sinks, Endo Steel Internals, and you will probably also want a larger engine) on each Hunchback to get it to something like its best, so it is probably more like 14-16 million for the 3 Hunchbacks.