Getting Into BattleTech Question

13 replies to this topic

#1 mechchao999

• PipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 07 July 2012 - 03:05 AM

I'm pretty new to BattleTech Tabletop (I've been a fan of MW for a long time, but I just recently got into BT), I've already played the Catalyst Quick-Start Rules. Now I'm looking into playing more, with the expanded rules and tech. I opened up the Tactical Operations manual (that's the next rulebook I should go to, right?) and it's 400 confusing pages. I can't even read it for more than 20 minutes without getting lost, or completely forgetting what the movement rules for gravel piles were. Not only that, but the organization of the Technical Readout or whatever it's called is really confusing. How do you experienced BT players juggle all of these rules? Am I doing something wrong? Any help at all would be appreciated.

#2 JHare

• PipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 91 posts

Posted 07 July 2012 - 05:22 AM

The Master Rules and TacOps books were written with the intent that someone with a decent understanding of BT would be reading them. They're intended to be reference, not teaching material. Or at least that was my understanding.

They way I got back up to speed after a long absence was downloading megamek and just playing the AI. The AI is limited so you can't do complicated ops. But you can learn what requires PSR, what movement costs are, calculating the required to-hit, etc. Megamek almost always explains what numbers are required for rolls and where they come from.

If you go on the mekwars servers, you can get and understanding of artillery and some more advanced stuff playing on those

#3 Slade Deleportas

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 144 posts
  • LocationPennsylvania

Posted 07 July 2012 - 05:46 AM