Black Screen On Startup

13 replies to this topic

#1 Bionic Crow

Rookie

• Survivor
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 December 2015 - 04:45 PM

So recently I started playing MWO. I loaded the game up today and found out that it just showed a black screen and stopped responding. I've looked for solutions but i've found none. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

#2 Dawnstealer

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Mercenary
  • Mercenary
  • 3,734 posts
  • LocationBlack Earth

Posted 12 December 2015 - 10:43 PM

I've been playing this for a long, long time and kind of have a similar problem. Reinstalled the client, run the patcher, no change. I can hear the startup animations, but can't see them.

Thankfully, unlike the new player above, I know the timing and sounds of the startup screen, so can just enter my password without actually being able to see it, and the game fires up as normal. But if I were a new player? There'd be no way I'd know what was going on.

#3 TWIAFU

• The Pest
  • The Pest
  • 4,011 posts
  • LocationBell's Brewery, MI

Posted 13 December 2015 - 06:25 AM

View PostBionic Crow, on 12 December 2015 - 04:45 PM, said:

So recently I started playing MWO. I loaded the game up today and found out that it just showed a black screen and stopped responding. I've looked for solutions but i've found none. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Sounds familiar.

What I did to fix that is three steps, and all can be found on the Microsoft website;

Download, install as admin, the following;

1. vcredist_x86
2. vcredist_x64
3. dxwebsetup

#1 and #2 here: https://www.microsof...s.aspx?id=40784
#3 here: https://www.microsof....aspx%3Fid%3D35

Next, run the Client. Before you hit PLAY, upper right corner, look for a pair of cogs, click it and select Force 32b Client.

Now click Play. IF the same issue I have run across, it should have Launched. Go to settings right away, and choose DX9 and save. Restart if asked.