Omni Pods, Nova D, And Other Clan Questions

4 replies to this topic

#1 CJ Daxion

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Nimble
  • The Nimble
  • 222 posts

Posted 16 December 2015 - 12:12 AM

Can you buy these, if you don't have access to the mech? If not, any idea when it is coming for C-bills?

(JC Daxion here)

On another Note, on clans, as i'm a total clan newbie outside of killing them.

I really wanted to get nova's first.. I just always liked them, and my hate for the stormcrow and lack of JJ's makes me want to skip it. BUT i noticed, that it's the only medium clan side that i can run Dual missile packs on the torso.. Left and right side. The D has the arm though, so it could work.. I am finding the clanners run hot too, so it makes me wonder if running some sorta ballistics set-up on novas is viable. Typically i just see laser boats with them.. (though that is classic nova, and kinda the reason why i wanted it anyway)

Now, with trials, i've been playing the mad cat, and i am having fun, and i know they are super versatile.. it's almost making me want to just get that for my first clan mech. I know that's almost blaspheme coming from an inner sphere guy. I also don't wan't to get sucked into using arguably the best clan mech to learn the clan side.. But it almost reminds me of inner sphere side, just because of the amount of load outs i can run with it. It;s also a heavy, which means longer cue times..

Summoner.. this was the clanner heavy i wanted to get down the road.. but something is making me say, get it.. Thor's have also been a fav of mine. And yea, it would break the getting a heavy first rules.. But it's a thor! I have to ask, are they that bad? Or are they just not a mad cat? Do they do things you can't do in the Timber?

Shadow hawk, Another fav from back in the day, and it looks like it is pretty flexible, but it runs at 45 tons. I do see them around a bit, and they seam decent.. Outside flexibility what bonuses do you think they have over the Nova?